Furness Way

Furness Way

The route crosses the Southern Lake District from coast to coast, beginning at Arnside on the eastern side of Morecambe Bay and finishing at the fishing village and former ancient Roman sea port of Ravenglass on the Irish Sea. 

You will meander across the Southern Lakes, a relatively quieter region, by traversing a good deal of the old county of Lancashire, north of the Sands. It provides an opportunity to explore the very best of High Furness and the surrounding area including Lyth Valley, Cartmel, Coniston, the Duddon Valley and Eskdale. The main portion of this once detached part of Lancashire has been know for centuries as Furness, giving its name to the route.

day 1ArnsideCrosthwaite15m, 24km
day 2CrosthwaiteCartmel13m, 21km
day 3CartmelLowick13m, 21km
day 4LowickConiston11m, 18km
day 5ConistonBoot13m, 21km
day 6BootRavenglass11m, 18km
Total76m, 123km

Route information, maps, distances and itineraries are for general information only and should not be relied on for navigation.

All routes